A studio of one’s own


I pretty much live in my studio.  No, really.  It’s where I eat, use the computer, watch t.v. and sometimes sleep.  I am surrounded on three sides by a plethora of art supplies.  I work on a table I made out of an old barn door.  But how often do I really make art?  Not as often as I would like, or as often as I feel I should.  You see, I am an art therapist and one of the guiding precepts of my work is maintaining my personal art making practice.  It’s important enough that I preach it constantly to my students.  But does the preacher practice what she preaches?

16 years ago my drawing teacher said to me that if I didn’t have a studio space I would not make art.  I took his words to heart.  When a roommate moved out a few years ago, I made the financial leap and took over a bedroom and transformed it into my studio.  Now it is filled with shelves teeming with beads, paper, fabric, paints, sewing supplies, 2D and 3D collage materials, boxes and books.  So what exactly is the problem?

I blame my dearth of art making on lack of time and energy, but the truth is I could be more organized and efficient about both.  With this blog, I am making a commitment to be more focused in my art making and to share my journey with you.  Will you join me?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy S.
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:54:00

    Awesome, Jen. I will be following your blog.

    Reply

  2. Annette
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 14:19:23

    This is simply terrific. Can’t wait for more.

    Reply

  3. Cathy Malchiodi, PhD
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 15:14:54

    Wonder Woman of Art, it’s about time you became a blogger! I love it and sending you a big hug!

    Reply

  4. Nancy
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 18:14:09

    You are a rock star! Will love to read all your blogs! I like Little things, too, cause sometimes that’s all I have energy for. And after a while the Little things can add up to a Big thing. Someone a long time ago told me the only way to get something done is to begin…

    Reply

  5. Colette Crowley
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 00:23:19

    I will!

    Reply

  6. Sheri S
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 14:46:33

    I have been beating myself up for weeks about the lack of studio time. Sometimes I just find that my downtime consists of Gilmore Girl reruns. It serves its purpose but……. I am committing my 4 day Christmas break and 4 day New Years break will be about personal art making. I can’t think of a better resolution this year. I look forward to following your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

