Biting off as much as you can chew


Being totally overwhelmed happens to the best of us.  It happens in art, it happens in life.  My momma always told me not to bite off more than I could chew.  My mantra is to take life in small manageable parts.  In the studio, this means setting small manageable goals and taking daily steps towards achieving them.

Today’s goal is to reflect and prepare.  As we approach the New Year, it is time for me to start thinking about the practical steps I need to take to enable my art making practice and process in the coming year.  I find that if I don’t have a deadline I don’t get anything done.  I am setting a deadline of Jan. 17 for a big writing project.  I am setting a daily deadline for working in my art journal.  I am setting a Jan. 31 deadline for making some decisions about taking art courses.  If I have time for computer games, I have time to make art!

Information gathering will be an important part of all of my upcoming deadlines.  What courses are available?  What paperwork needs to be completed?  Who should I contact?  What materials do I need?  I need to surround myself with all the necessary materials and information so that I can make wise decisions and proceed forward in an orderly manner.

What are you doing to prepare for the New Year?  What questions do you ask yourself?  What commitment are you making to ongoing art making and how will you fulfill it?  What steps, large and small, do you need to take to make art a part of your daily life?

The approach of the New Year is a natural time to reflect on all that has happened in the previous 356 days and get our ducks in a row for a fertile 2011.  Happy New Year and Happy Art Making!  I look forward to sharing our journey in the upcoming days.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Phoenix Peacock
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:07:46

    Oh this is a tricky one for me. I’ve always compared myself to a miniature chihuahua with an elephant bone. I know I’ll finish it, but it is a lot of work! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

