A creativity audit


Recently I was given some questions meant to guide me in reflecting on my spirituality.  While I believe that spirituality and art have much in common, it is not the topic of this post.  The questions seem to lend themselves to reflection on creativity, so I have adapted them somewhat.   This is the good kind of audit, not the scary IRS kind.  It is meant to guide you in reflecting on what role creativity plays in your life.  It is not meant to inflict guilt or shame so if you find that arising as you read these questions just breathe and let it go.

Have my most significant creative experiences been in the distant past?

Is my life becoming one of increasing creativity?

What commands and receives my best time and energy?  What am I pouring out my life for?

Do I  have regular occasions to exercise my creativity?

Am I  invested in the creative growth of at least one other person?

Are the amounts of time and energy I devote to dieting and fitness in proportion to the amounts of time that I allot for creative activities?

Is my creativity an element of my relationships?  Have I talked about my creativity with those who are closest to me?

Use any or all of these questions as prompts for yourself or for a group and make art around it.  Take a page from your altered book to address a question.  Write in your journal about the role creativity plays in your life.  Only by examining where we are now can we determine where we want to be and how to get there.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy Malchiodi, PhD
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 09:57:51

    And apparently it is a health-giving practice to step away from the computer screen and go make some art! Sitting in front of screen for more than two hours a day, heart disease risk goes up. Making things can’t be that bad and I’ll bet it is a lot better for our hearts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

