Art making as prayer


a (1) : an address (as a petition)  in word or thought <said a prayer for the success of the voyage> (2) : a set order of words used in praying b : an earnest request or wish
I recently learned how to really pray.   Rather, I expanded my understanding of what prayer is to include my creative activities.  Knitting is a prayer.  Singing is a prayer.  Art making on the whole is a prayer.  And make no mistake, I am not advocating prayer as a conversation with any particular deity.  In fact, that was my biggest stumbling block when I was reintroduced to the idea of praying.  “Not sure who I am talking to here,” was my first thought.  But then I realized that it did not matter to whom or what I was praying.  My prayer is a shout out to the universe and I do it by singing, dancing and making art.  I give thanks, I ask why, I shed tears, I pour my whole self into it when I am making art.  Is that not a prayer?
Do you have a regular spiritual practice that you engage in?  Is art making a part of it?  What is your prayer?
Before you get too worried that I am taking this blog in a weird direction, let me be straight with you about my spiritual practices.  I am a Unitarian Universalist and an agnostic.  I believe in peace, social justice and community.  I tell you this because my spiritual practice and my art practice are closely intertwined.  I advocate for prayer because it is a deeply meditative and reflective practice, as is art making.  I don’t care whether you pray or which deity you pray too.  I am just telling you that it helps me.
I encourage you to approach your art making as a shout out to the universe and to use it as a means of self-exploration and deeper understanding of the ways of the world.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Artswebshow
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 16:18:36

    Definitely agree with you on this.
    I dont believe in amything so specific as a god.
    But in terms of creativity i do connect on a spiritual level

    Reply

Leave a Reply

