Dominoes anyone?


I have caught the domino bug. I picked it up from Cathy Malchiodi and Gretchen Miller and just have to share it with you because it is so much fun. What the heck am I talking about? Why, domino pins of course! It is a simple and fun project for all ages. I will be introducing these in my vocational arts program as I think the clients will enjoy making them and I know they will sell.

Check out the new link to the Fusion e-zine where Cathy gives some instruction on making these cool pins using alcohol inks. I am going to give you some of my ideas and tips that have evolved from my own making of these pins.

To get started, you will need some nice big dominoes. I am using white plastic dominoes that are 2″ x 1″. Glues adhere well to them, although I will warn you that you cannot drill holes in them as I learned from painful personal experience. Pull out that stash of paper you have been collecting. I am using scraps cut from old books, tissue paper, origami paper and wrapping paper. Trace around the domino onto the paper of your choice. You will need to trim it a little inside the traced line so that it will fit the face of the domino. I made a template for this so that I don’t have to reinvent the wheel with each domino. Adhere the paper to the domino with Mod Podge. If you want to add some glitter, I suggest using the sparkle Mod Podge.  I used glitter on one of my pins and it shed all over my clothes.

Now you can add some text or images. I sort through my big box of collage words cut out from magazines to find quirky sentences and pictures that will fit on the tiny canvas of the domino. Beads, jewels, and other small doo-dads can be adhered with a drop of Gem-Tac jewelry glue. Don’t forget the edge of the domino! Color can be applied with a Sharpie marker or you can glue on ribbon, paper, more beads, etc. A final coat of Mod Podge will seal everything in place. Once the front is dry, a small metal pin back is easily glued to the back of the pin with the Gem-Tac.  Place the pin back as close as you can to the top of the domino so that when you wear it the pin doesn’t tip forward.

I am having fun working on these in a series. I am gluing paper onto about 10 dominoes at a time and I just keep moving from one to the next rather than work on one start to finish.  New ideas keep emerging and since the dominoes are so small it doesn’t get overwhelming.  I am going to try embossing onto the paper, but I am not sure if it adhere-time to experiment!

What creative activities are keeping you on your toes today?  I am trying hard to stick with my art making intention by making some Little Art today with the dominoes.  I encourage you to make some Big or Little Art too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy Malchiodi, PhD
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 07:21:45

    Gretchen Miller wrote the domino instructions I think…and it is addicting, I must say. I always make sure I have some around when the domino bug bites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

