Art for Sale


I have been down this road before.

The domino bug has bitten me hard and I have made about 35 pins so far. What to do with them all? They are neatly laid out in my jewelry display boxes along with beaded earrings and bracelets that I made during another crafting binge a few years ago. Selling them would be the logical thing.  But here is where it gets tricky for me.

When I start making items to sell, I start to lose my enthusiasm for making them. Something about the self-created pressure to produce takes all the fun out of it. This is largely why I did not pursue the route of being a full-time artist. I did not want to market myself or my work, it’s not why I make art. If people enjoy my work, that is a bonus. But selling my work is not a driving force for me. I’ve sold a few pieces over the years and I sell the jewelry but I don’t want to take it around to stores or start taking orders. It turns a fun activity into work, and I already have plenty of that thank you!

I am thinking about opening an Etsy shop because that would be an easy way to sell a few things at my own pace. But all of this has led me to think about why I make art and how and where I want it to live in the world. Living off your art is a tough row to hoe. However, making it brings the intrinsic benefits of creative release, self-expression, and the satisfaction of a job well-done.

I don’t think I will ever resolve this internal conflict about making and selling my work. I just have to continue dancing along the edge of it and paying close attention to how I am feeling about it. It’s okay to stop if it is not fun anymore.

Do you sell your artwork? Do you make it with the intention of selling it? How does it feel to part with your artwork? What do you do to market yourself?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marita Navarro
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:44:17

    What is an Etsy shop?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

