Driving down Art Avenue


“If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there.” One of my art professors used to say this to me all the time and obviously it stuck with me. I am two months into my daily commitment to making art and it’s time to think about where I have been and where I am going.

My intent, as opposed to my resolution, for 2011 was to make art every day. Big Art, Little Art, it doesn’t matter as long as I am doing something towards my goal. I will be honest, some days are better than others. Right now I have an abundance of energy for art making and am spending long hours in the studio.  My aching shoulder can attest to this! There are days though when it is a struggle to muster the necessary energy to do even the Littlest Art.

I celebrate the days when I am going full throttle but want to give some attention to the low energy days. What small thing can I do towards achieving my goal? How can I spend even a few minutes on art making? Breaking the art making down into small manageable tasks seems to make a difference. Maybe I can’t start a whole new batch of work, but I can do one small task towards completing the last one. Cleaning up the studio counts as Little Art, so does adding a new blog post. Walking around an art store, working a little on my Etsy site, taking a few photos-everything counts.

Energy naturally fluctuates and the demands of the day can make it hard to channel it towards art making. I am tired after a long day at work and don’t always feel like putting in a few hours in the studio. So I flip through a book, look at a website, gather ideas, straighten up the studio-anything to keep me on the road I have chosen. I know where I am going and I know which road will take me there.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phoenix Peacock
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 22:51:12

    I’ve been loving your insightful posts.

    I’m hoping, on a high energy day, you might like to check this out: http://acommunityartproject.blogspot.com/2011/02/project.html

    Reply

  2. hannah
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 10:47:14

    Jenna, thank you for that quote from your art professor. What to do with low energy? It’s an eternal question for artists isn’t it? On a low energy day, I like to sit in my studio and page through books (as you mentioned), file papers and, generally get my head and heart in line. Once that happens, usually then I begin to hear the siren call of the art on the wall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

