Works in progress


It should come as no surprise that I have several irons in the creative fire at any given time. Here are a few of them:

Check out this website http://www.pickpunch.com/ You can make your own guitar picks. I  purchased the punch and am experimenting with different ways to add color to the picks. According to my musician friends, the picks themselves are very good and the trick now is to make the color permanent. There is a video on the website demonstrating a way to sandwich images between two picks. I haven’t tried this yet.  We have been coloring the picks with alcohol inks and they look great but the color wears off. I am thinking about trying a polyurethane spray to seal them. Does  anyone have any ideas? Mod podge is too sticky, but I need some kind of sealant. I will post some pics of these later.

I am working in several altered books right now, but the main one is from a set of encyclopedias. I have the ambitious goal of altering the whole set  of books. The current one focuses on things that are common: air, causes, good, hope, despair. I generated a huge list by asking for submissions on Facebook. Then I embossed the words on each page of the encyclopedia. Now I am going through and altering each page. I worked on it along with my class this semester and I do some of it during my open studio groups at work.

Students in my class have to come up with their own altered book techniques to share. There were some great ideas this year, including a woven pop-up page.

I am trying to work out a way of weaving a Danish heart onto a page. See this website for instructions on making Danish hearts http://www.lesliehawes.com/wordpress/?p=974  Danish hearts don’t have to be hearts, they can be any shape or size. Once you have mastered the weaving technique you can let your imagination go wild.

Sock monkeys are a perennial favorite and they are fun to make and give as gifts.  Here is the website for the original Red Heel sock monkeys

http://www.sockmonkey.com/index.html

I am making some sock monkeys for my cousin (I haven’t forgotten Anna!) out of these adorable socks. They should sew up into some pretty cute little monkeys.  If you are making these for small children, you have to embroider on the features instead of using buttons or other swallowable items.

These are just a few things that are keeping me busy. What are you working on?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jette
    May 27, 2011 @ 05:03:46

    very cool blog and very cool artist 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

