Taking an Art-filled Vacation


I miss being in art school. Charcoal and paint on my clothes and under my nails. Art history classes by day and long studio sessions at night. The camaraderie with my fellow students as we worked to crank out our masterpieces for the next big critique. The total immersion in art. Next week, I get to go back.

A vacation implies relaxation, freedom from obligations, escaping to a beach or city. My vacation is taking me to the Art Institute of Boston. No beach there. I am taking an intensive residency in printmaking. Geared towards art educators, the course involves paint under my nails, long nights in the studio, fellowship with other artists, visits to the MFA-sounds like heaven to me. While I could definitely use some rest, relaxation and beach time, this is an opportunity I could not pass up.

I have gotten some quizzical looks when I told people of my vacation plans. Why would you want to do that? Don’t you want to get away for a while? Well, yes I would like to get away. That is why I am taking my escape in the form of delving into the art and craft of printmaking. I am returning to my roots in the studio, strengthening and refreshing my artist self, resting my weary brain and body by filling up at the well of art making. I look forward to reporting back to you with my adventures and discoveries. My goals for the week are to complete a solid body of work, make connections with other art educators, and to reconnect with my core sense of self as an artist. If I make progress towards all of these goals, it will be a vacation well spent.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marlene
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 05:26:19

    This sounds wonderful! I totally get it! Sometimes I think about a vacation away at a cooking school, just for the total immersion. There is relaxation, almost meditation in tasks that engage hand and minds.

    Reply

  2. Nadene
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 08:08:33

    SOOOO jealous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

