Riding the Artistic High


Nothing like a huge learning curve to get the creative juices flowing! When I signed on to do the 6 Degrees of Creativity project, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I say that with love. I am coming out the other side of making my film and it has been quite a journey.

There were many challenges along the way. For starters, I don’t own a video camera. Lesley University was kind enough to loan me one for 6 days. Then I realized that the editing software that came with my computer was not quite up to snuff for what I needed to do, so I tracked down a better program and got that installed. A friend gave me a really nice computer but I have been unable to get the sound working (until yesterday!) so I was trying to edit without being able to hear anything. Not the easiest task I must say. I burned disc after disc so that I could try to finagle the sound. Yikes. Learning the software was another challenge, and I never did quite master the audio features even after I got the sound working on the computer. I spent two solid days filming, and ended up tossing half of it.

But I don’t mean to complain, because working on this project was a real gift in the end. About halfway through, when I got the audio more or less lined up with the video and made a halfway decent first cut, I finally got a sense of the finished product. And let me tell you, I was downright yahooing, fist-pumping, tears rolling down my face euphoric! I found the creative high-you know, the one you get when it all starts to come together. I compare it to a runner’s high, that endorphin rush you get when you have pushed your body to the max. This is what I keep coming back for, why I keep pushing on when I get stuck on a project-because I know the pieces will start to fall into place. This is that “trusting the process” concept that we art therapists love to talk about.

I also feel really great about being able to find solutions all along the  way. I  was the producer, director, actor, and editor of this film and I had to solve all kinds of technical, creative and artistic problems. This was not an easy undertaking but in the end I feel awesome about being able to conquer so many challenges and come out with a pretty decent film.

I hope you will join us in the 6 Degrees of Creativity workshops!

Leave a Reply

