Cultivating Energy


This probably happens to many of you too. I suffer a serious slowdown in the fall and winter months due to the decline in daylight. This is a big problem because the fall and winter months are my busiest work times. New interns, new classes, new projects sprouting up everywhere….not the optimal time to be crashing. Ah, how to conserve and cultivate energy in a time of hibernation?

I find this to be a time when self-care becomes my primary concern and focus. I don’t worry as much about little things, and I just try to take of my self by performing all the tasks of daily living. Making art is a priority as always and I try to get  in some little art every day, mostly by making art at work. Today I made some jewelry with clients in preparation for a big sale coming up in a few weeks. Earlier in the week I worked in an altered book. It is important to be gentle with myself right now. Energy is precious.

At times like this, I especially struggle with making art a priority every day. Luckily, I have opportunities at work to make art, but I can’t beat myself up about not getting a lot done in the studio right now. Better to rest. Conserve energy. Store up for the work ahead. Spring will be here soon.

Leave a Reply

