Hierarchy of Wants


The other day I was thinking about something that happened to me when I was starting graduate school. I suddenly realized that this event happened almost twenty years ago. Twenty years! Where does the time go? Twenty years from now, I will be in my sixties. The time goes by so fast, what do I want to do with the next twenty years?

This question came home to me during a training I attended today. The question posed was simple: What do you want? The answer: not so simple.  I mean, let’s face it, some opportunities have passed me by. But when it comes to my work, the field is wide open. I want to be the best listener I can be. I want to respond and not just react. I want to help my clients find their inner strengths and help them grab onto hope and joy. I want to be more patient. I want to be more of a fellow journeyer and less of a tour guide. Did I mention I want to be more patient? I want to grow in my ability to offer options instead of just saying no. I want to improve my skills in fostering a team spirit. I want to help others grow into their full potential as leaders.These are all the ways I want to be.

Here is what I want to do: write a solid book proposal and start shopping it around to publishers. It is time to take action on this, it has been a goal for a long time. I also want to have more fun and do more to relax than collapse into bed at the end of a long day. Write a book, have fun and relax. I think that is plenty to have on my plate for 2012. That is my focus and I am sharing it with you so keep me honest and hold me to it, okay?

What do you want? What are your dreams, your aspirations, your deepest desires? How close are you to getting your wants met? What can you do to facilitate this? How often do you even think about this? Do your wants get sublimated because of the demands of everyday life? How do we start to make our wants known and get them met? Our wants are just as  important as our needs. I for one need to start paying attention to them.

Leave a Reply

