Belief in Things Unseen


I just finished making a 16 foot long dragon for story time during tomorrow’s Easter services. What, pray tell, does a dragon have to do with Easter? I was wondering the same thing until it was explained to me during this morning’s rehearsal. The story is about a boy who is the only one who sees the dragon until it so large it is impossible not to see it. How all this ties into Easter is the subject for another blog, this is a Unitarian Universalist church after all.

I think it is an apt metaphor as well for the work we do as therapists.  So much of our work relies on believing in the unseen and unknown. We usually don’t know where our words and actions land within our clients. We spend a lot of time time helping people unravel the mysteries of the heart and the psyche. Sometimes our clients are the only ones who see the dragons. Being the Dragon Seer can be a precarious role to play.

All of this impresses upon me the power and the awesome responsibility of the job of being in the role of therapist. I must act and speak with kindness and care. I must hold onto hope when my clients have abandoned it. I must believe in each person’s  ability to change, heal and grow. Hope, kindness,healing-all of these things are unseen and immeasurable-yet I must maintain absolute faith in them.

It seems to me that anyone working as a therapist must have a bedrock belief in something so ethereal as human potential. How else do we carry on? How do we understand the nebulous nature of our work other than a belief in things unseen?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheri W
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 12:33:55

    Great post. I think this comes from the book, “There’s No Such Thing as a Dragon” by Jack Kent. It’s an older kid’s book but it has been reprinted. I use it with my parents sometimes. I love the thoughts. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Jen D-K
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 03:24:55

    I don’t like the way our church does Easter so I skip the service, but I’m sorry I missed your dragon! I’m sure it was the fabbiest dragon evah!

    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

