Tag! I’m It!


  • Gretchen Miller tagged me for some creative blog fun! If you want to play on your own blog, here are the rules:
  • You must post the rules
  • Answer 11 questions the tagger posted for you
  • Create 11 questions to ask the people you tag
  • Tag 11 people
  • Let them know you’ve tagged them
Here are the questions I got from Gretchen with my responses:
  1. What is your most favorite art material or media to use in your personal art-making?    It’s hard to list my most favorite material or media, I have so many! If I am in Big Art mode, I would have to say it is beeswax collage. It’s Big Art because it requires a fair amount of time and setup. For Little Art, I like to noodle around in my altered books, often sewing in them or using stamps and embossing powder.
  2. Favorite source for creative inspiration?  I get a lot of inspiration from walking around antique stores. Seeing all the vintage stuff gives me ideas for new juxtapositions of old and new imagery.
  3. Any tips for making the time to focus on your creative practice?  Don’t wait to have time to be creative.Incorporate it into everything you do. Practice your creativity mindfully and give yourself credit for the small creative acts you do every day. Creativity isn’t something to fit into your schedule, it is something to BE.
  4. What artsy project are you working on right now? I always have several altered books going. My big project now is more crafty. I was asked to finish knitting a sweater that was started by someone for her husband before she passed away. It will be a birthday gift for him from the family.
  5. Is there a particular art material, technique, or process you would like to learn more about or spend more time with?  I would love to learn about glass blowing, metal smithing, and do some more with printmaking. I took a printmaking class last summer and really fell in love with the possibilities.
  6. Biggest creative challenge you’ve experienced?  Making the film for 6 Degrees of Creativity! The sound wasn’t working on my computer, I wasn’t familiar with the camera, the editing software was new to me and I set up and shot the whole thing by myself. I don’t recommend any of these scenarios if you are making a film! 🙂 In the end, it all worked out, I am very happy with the finished product, and it was a very creatively satisfying experience to solve all of those problems on my own.
  7. What does creativity mean to you?  Seeing the world with fresh eyes, being open to all possibilities, a willingness to take risks, having a playful attitude, developing problem-solving skills,working hard and having fun!
  8. Favorite art related book you’ve read or would like to read? Frida Kahlo’s journal
  9. Do you prefer to create alone or with others? I find my working styles are very different depending on whether I am alone or with others. Generally when I am making art with others, I am the group leader-either as professor or therapist. That tends to limit my work because my real focus is on the group members.Otherwise, I generally work alone although it is certainly fun to have a pal to bounce ideas around with!
  10. What role has social media and networking played in your creative practice? I wouldn’t have this blog without it! It has enabled me to spread my thoughts, ideas and work to a larger audience. It has enriched my network of professional contacts and opened up opportunities for me.
  11. Finish this sentence:  ”To create is to exist”.           And now for my 11 questions: (I can’t make the numbering below go away 😦
  12. When did you really start to embrace your creative self?
  13. Who encouraged you on your creative path?
  14. If you were going to change careers, what else would you do?
  15. If you had a patron for a year, what would you do with your time and money?
  16. What piece of art would you most want to have in your home?
  17. Which artist, living or dead, would you like to have dinner with?
  18. If you were going to host a salon and could invite anyone living or dead, who would you invite?
  19. What kills your creative buzz and how do you get it back?
  20. Describe your creative work space.
  21. Do you ever sell your work? Does the prospect of selling it alter it in any way?
  22. What percentage of the creative process is fun for you?
  23. Now I just have to figure out how to tag some people!
Leave a Reply

